The eat well plate

Video 32 of 33
1 min 23 sec
Want to watch this video? Sign up for the course or enter your email below to watch one free video.

Unlock This Video Now for FREE

This video is normally available to paying customers.
You may unlock this video for FREE. Enter your email address for instant access AND to receive ongoing updates and special discounts related to this topic.

The eat well plate is a diagram that refers to plate made up of 5 sections, each one indicating a particular food group and the correct amount to consume for a healthy diet. The plate model was updated in 2007 and promoted by the food standards agency as the one to be used for food education in Great Britain.

The segments of the eat well plate include:-

Fruit and vegetables provide essential minerals, vitamins, some dietary fibre and carbohydrates;

Bread, rice, potatoes, pasta and other starchy foods provide carbohydrates of a starchy type, some dietary fibre, especially if they're unrefined foods and also provide some minerals, vitamins and protein;

Meat, fish, eggs, beans and other non-dairy sources of protein provide protein and minerals, especially iron as well as some vitamins;

Milk and dairy foods provide protein, vitamins and minerals and in particular a key source of calcium;

And finally, Foods high in fat or sugar provide fat and in particular saturated fats and sugars;

We will discuss some of these segments in more detail in other videos.